Artificial Intelligence

About the Pilot

The Artificial Intelligence (AI) Pilot, launched in 2021, is a vibrant platform dedicated to stimulating the demonstration and commercial deployment of AI-driven solutions within diverse industrial ecosystems. Led by Baden-Württemberg and the Basque Country, the Pilot places paramount importance on developing a European value chain for AI that intricately intertwines with the social dimension and impact of technology deployment, all while addressing the demands and needs of industry.

Activities & Long Term Goals

Cultivating Interregional AI Value Chains: Harnessing AI Champions and Collaborative Networks.

AI Pilot serves as an inclusive and comprehensive space for regional stakeholders to actively engage in meaningful conversations surrounding AI. At the heart of our initiative, we foster interregional value chains that revolve around AI champions, as well as B2B and B2C initiatives. To amplify our impact, we leverage existing networks and initiatives such as Enterprise Europe Network (EEN), European Digital Innovation Hubs (EDIHs) and Digital Transformation Accelerator. Through those valuable connections, our Vanguard regions and partners are already engaged, enabling us to tap into a wider pool of expertise and resources.

Unlocking funding opportunities.

The Pilot plays a crucial role in supporting and facilitating joint project development activities, particularly within funding frameworks such as Horizon Europe, Interregional Innovation Investment Framework (I3), and other relevant EU programs. Our aim is to provide guidance and assistance to regional stakeholders in navigating the complex landscape of project development, unlock funding opportunities and drive collaborative projects that fuel innovation and foster interregional cooperation.

Co-Leading Regions
Baden - Württemberg
Basque Country
Pilot Contacts
Stefano Sbarbati

Baden Württemberg

Participating Regions
Autonomous Province of Trento / Trentino
Basque Country
East Netherlands
Nord-Est (RO)
North Rhine-Westphalia
Tampere Region
View More

Demo Cases

AI Pilot - Startup BW Summit 2022

The AI Pilot Event 2022 will take place at the Startup BW Summit 2022 in Stuttgart on Friday, 30 September 2022 from 09:00 CEST. 

cup, podium, trophy
The evaluation results of the SME Success Stories are out!

The Vanguard Initiative SME Success Stories evaluation results are finally out and we are proud to announce the winners of this new Vanguard support scheme.

face, human, polygons

On 13 December 2021, the AI Pilot hosted its first Annual Plenary event. 

Vanguard Initiative workshop at the European Week of Regions and Cities (EWRC): Connecting Regional Innovation Ecosystems:

The Vanguard Initiative (VI) workshop organised in the framework of the EWRC, provided a valuable opportunity to discuss how European

EWRC - East Netherlands' Workshop: 'Regions shaping Europe’s digital future'

Th!nk East Netherlands is organising the workshop Regions shaping Europe’s digital future as part of the European Week of Regions and Cities 2021 on 12  

VI at the European Week of Region and Cities

Vanguard Initiative, jointly with the VI Regions East Netherlands, Asturias, Baden Württemberg, East and North Finland, Emilia Romagna, Scotland, Slovenia, and South Neth

AI Pilot Annual Event 2023

Join the Team of the Vanguard Initiative AI- Pilot at the Annual Event 2023 at the Exhibition Centre in Bilbao!

AI Regio final event

The AI REGIO consortium is delighted to invite you to the AI REGIO Final Event at the BluePoint in Brussels on the 27th of September 2023.

AI Fusion 2022

AI FUSION is the new, international stage of the AI scene 29 - 30 September 2022 | Messe Stuttgart

AI Plenary meeting

The Artificial Intelligence Pilot action of the Vanguard Initiative is pleased to invite you to its 2021 Plenary Digital Event!

EWRC: Connecting Regional Innovation Ecosystems: Interregional Value Chains to spur the Digital transition

Vanguard Initiative, jointly with the VI Regions East Netherlands, Asturias, Baden Württemberg, East and North Finland, Emilia Romagna, Scotland, Slovenia, and South Neth